Return to the Health Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Gallbladder removal

Posted by sasha7 (My Page) on
Thu, Jul 25, 13 at 17:05

I am going to have my gallbladder removed next Tuesday. I am looking for sympathy/empathy as I am afraid. What am I afraid of? That from what I read on the Internet (which one should never do!) that it won't help, that I'll still be in pain and having all the other issues (weird BM's, gas, belching, vomiting, etc.), that missing so much work (I work as a nurse on a very physically demanding floor complete with having to lift patients, etc.) that now I'll be pegged as the one that causes problems for being sick (the world of nursing is not sometimes the most caring field at least for nurses!), that I don't know... I've seen a lot of infections from so-called "easy" surgeries like gallbladders and hernia operations. In short, I'm afraid. I felt better when I first talked to the surgeon and then like I said, my mind just has gone wild. It sucks! I do pray and I depend on prayer... just write me if you've been through this and let me know it's going to be OK! Thanks, Sasha

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Gallbladder removal

My sister in law had it done and she is fine. My cousin as well. Whenever I read online about an upcoming procedure I get all worked up too. And in the end it's painless and you're so much better afterwards! Just think...you won't have pain after eating icecream!!! Let us know how you made out. It's amazing how minimally invasive procedures are now, and how much less recovery time is needed. Good luck!

o

I took care of my friend after her surgery. The actual procedure was surprisingly simple and she came after one night in the hospital. However, she did not follow doctor's orders to rest and recover, had a bad setback and took twice as long to recuperate. Listen to your doctor and give yourself the time you need to recover entirely. Good luck. You'll be fine.

o