Return to the Health Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Health Insurance Matter

Posted by charlie2003 (My Page) on
Fri, Jul 7, 06 at 9:53

I'll try to briefly explain my dilemma.

I live in NYC. I buy my health insurance from a group rate plan from an agency I work for. I'm an independent contractor. They just called me last week (28th June) and said that the health insurance company is no longer qualifying contractors for their plan by the end of that month (June), leaving me without any health insurance as of 1st July. That just gave me one weekend of notice.

I've looked into purchasing some personal health insurance, however, for most you can't qualify until the following month. This leaves me without health insurance for a month......a huge worry for me. I'm healthy and in my early 30's if this matters any.

My questions are:
1) Shouldn't a health insurance company give more notice before such cancellations? Do I have any such rights?

2) Anybody know of any temporary insurance plans for just a month or a few weeks? Not as a traveller though.

Many Thanks,

Charlie

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Health Insurance Matter

If you are healthy and in your 30s, what are the chances that you will need insurance in a month? A lot of people would take a chance and use some extra time to shop around for the best deal at the best rates. Don't be rushed into buying something that may not be the best plan for you. For example, a plan that offers ambulance coverage is usually not worth the extra premium because the chance of ever using it is slim. Some plans even cover organ transplants and overseas coverage. All with increased premiums. What are the chances of your needing a policy like that? You want a good basic policy with a decent deductible. The larger the deductible, the lower the monthly premium.

o