Return to the Health Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Anyone on meds for High Cholestrol?

Posted by mboston (My Page) on
Thu, Jun 17, 10 at 22:03

I was just put on Crestor for high cholestrol. I am wondering what meds people are given. I know that Crestor is a statin and that there are others like Lipitor and Zorcor. Am trying to see if one has sideaffects that others may not. A friend of ours had been on Crestor and had muscle pain that he finally attributed to the Crestor. He is a good tennis player and also a pharamacist. He saw muscle pain as a sideaffect way down on the list and changed to Zorcor and hasn't had any problems. Just wondering what others are using and having success with.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Anyone on meds for High Cholestrol?

I'm on Zorcor 40 mgs and doing fine. I'm 57 years old. Can't recall any side affects.

o

I'm been taking Zocor also, for several years. I've had no problem either. I'm no expert, but I've seen some info on using CoQ10 supplements when taking statin drugs. Apparently the statin drugs can in some cases lower the body's natural levels of CoQ10. And that,in some cases, might lead to a muscle problem (rhabdomyolysis). Use of CoQ10 supplements to possibly avoid the chance of this is controversial. But I figure it can't hurt to take it. BTW, when taking statin drugs, avoid drinking grapefruit juice or eating grapefruit.

o

What is CoQ10? I have read about that on other posts. I hate taking meds and it is a challenge for me to add more since I have now the Crestor and an aspirin as well as my GERD med. I have been told to take Calicum and a well balanced vitamin with good B complex. There are other meds like Allegra I take when needed. Hate having to keep up with it all and wondering about complications from taking all kinds of meds as I have allergic reactions that seem to come from nowhere.