Return to the Health Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Dwelling on past mistakes

Posted by schoolbelle (My Page) on
Wed, Jun 17, 09 at 12:22

I think I'm a relatively stable person, but I have issues with letting go of (relatively minor) mistakes or near mishaps. For instance, today I had a lane change near-mishap which would have been my fault and now the mental tape has begun to play "How could you do that?", "How could you be so stupid", etc. It drags me down and I just can't shake the negative self-criticism in situations that others seem to take in stride.

Actually, when I think about it, most of my self-criticism happens mainly in two situations. Social situations where I've said something or done something which usually is minor but which I blow completely out of proportion. And behind the wheel, where I feel like a timid little old lady among the fast and sometimes aggressive pack. (Lest you think I'm a horrible driver, I've been driving for 40 years with no citations or accidents).

How do I go about shutting this down and living with more peace with my (perceived) shortcomings?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Dwelling on past mistakes

Everybody berates themselves for things they have done or said that they regret. What I do when I get that little uneasy feeling that usually begins a session of reliving an embarassing moment or event that I wish had not happened, I immediately force myself to "change the subject". Much as you would do if involved in a conversation with someone else that made you uncomfortable. Every time you feel that niggling little feeling "change the subject." It gets easier with time.

o

pris hit the nail on the head. This is a common, human reaction to unpleasant happenings. It's also a way of learning to do better. Sometimes it works, and the situations get better, and sometimes, nothing seems to sink in and the person just keeps making the same dumb errors.