Return to the Health Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
gall bladder surgery

Posted by old_mp (My Page) on
Mon, Mar 23, 09 at 17:28

Has anyone had gall bladder surgery recenly...I just went through it a week ago...any thoughts or suggestions?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: gall bladder surgery

I had it Nov 2007 or maybe it was 2008. I didn't watch my fat intake afterward, but I did have problems with diarrhea for a while. I still have the scars.

o

Why are you asking? Are you having problems? How old are you? After a week you should be back to normal. Did you have a lap or open surgery? It is a simple surgery/recovery. I have taken care of many, many patients post-op, and also had mine done several months ago.
I had no problems at all. Up to the bathroom in Recovery Room, walking around a few hours later. (because I am a nurse, I knew how important it was to get up/moving right away- nobody would expect someone to get up as I did, but no problems).
About 1% (some docs say 10%), have diarrhea after.
If you do, avoid dairy, fatty foods and some avoid spicy foods. You still make bile- it is just 'drip, drip, drip' into the intestines instead of being released when you eat. There is a very small increase in intestinal cancer possibly due to the irritation of the constant dripping of bile (5%)

o