Return to the Health Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Hemorrhoids

Posted by bird_lover_2006 (My Page) on
Thu, Mar 8, 07 at 17:08

Has anyone found a way to get rid of existing hemorrhoids? The Dr told me to take stool softners and eat more fiber. I have been doing that for a couple of months. Sometimes they feel better and then all of a sudden they hurt again. I work out every morning for 30 mintues and try to walk around at work as much as possible. I also drink 72oz of water a day. I have a really big water bottle on my desk! This little pain in the b... is driving me crazy!!!!
Thanks for any help.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Hemorrhoids

You mean you haven't tried Prep H?

o

Are they internal or external?

o

My mom and sister had the surgery where they "bind" them. Of course they both said it was extremely painful,embarrssing,and that the roids came back after a couple months to a year anyways.
I'd stick with preperation H.And I heard taking advil can help the pain.Also something called a "sitz" bath where you just soak in the hottest water you can stand for like,20 minutes.

o

There are suppositories that may work better than Prep.H. cream. I remember one brand (forget the name) made of cocoa butter. It was just lovely to smell like hot cocoa every time I pulled down my panties. LOL

o

You can also try an over the counter product called Anusol. It comes in both suppositorie and ointment with a thin applicator that can be inserted to get the ointment inside.
You do need to increase your fluid intake as well as increasing roughage.

What I am finding in hospitals and doctors offices now thought, is a return to some old fashioned treatments for them.

Things like sitz bath, soaking in hot water in a tub as stated above and for relief, they are saying good old fashioned A&D ointment. the stuff used for diaper rash on babies.