Return to the Health Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Frozen Shoulder

Posted by raggiemom (My Page) on
Thu, Mar 18, 10 at 11:55

HI all. I frequently read this board, but this is my first time posting. I have frozen shoulder in both of my shoulders. I have seen the ortho doctor and they gave me a steroid shot and some pain pills. Can't tell that the shot did any good. Pills help some, but they make me drowsy for 12 - 14 hours. That's not a good thing when you have to work. I do ok during the day, but have a lot of trouble sleeping at night because of the pain. The way I sleep is about the most painful position for my shoulder. I try to sleep differently, but the minute I start to doze off, I automatically go into my normal sleep position and wake up.

Any one have any ideas?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Frozen Shoulder

I have had both shoulders frozen but at different times. I let the first one go too long but finally had a manipulation done on it, followed up with a few sessions of physical therapy. After that I had to do excerises at home for several months. The second shoulder I had about 2 years later. I got the manipulation done sooner on that one and had less trouble getting full range back from it.

The first one was caused by overusing the muscles, then when it hurt I "rested" them too long. The second just happened but the doctor said it probably was because I used it in place of the other one so much. There is also a theory that it is somehow related to hormones and/or diabetes. I have neither - had a total hysterectomy 20+ years ago, and am not diabetic.