Return to the Health Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Health insurance has been stopped

Posted by sjt2900 (My Page) on
Tue, Feb 14, 06 at 12:39

This is my first time on this forum and I don't know if this is an appropriate question, but I thought I'd give it a try. My BIL was diagnosed with stage 3 lung cancer last month. He has been taking chemo once a week and radiation therapy 5 days a week. The company he worked for for 30 years was taken over by a large conglomerate recently and they have now told him they have to let him go and stop his health insurance. We know about Cobra for insurance, but is it legal to just drop someones insurance like that? It's hard to afford the Cobra if you can't work. Is going on disability the answer? The family will pitch in and help with whatever needs to be done, but we're looking for any alternatives that may be available. He's doing fairly well and other than his voice being pretty much gone due to the cancer and feeling tired from the treatments, he's felling pretty good. Any advice would be appreciated.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Health insurance has been stopped

Have other employees been let go or is your BIL one of only a few? If there has been a wholesale discharge of employees, I don't think there is anything that can be done.

However, if only your BIL and a few others have been laid off, perhaps there is a discrimination issue here.

o

He's the only one being let go. It's because he can't work.

o

If he's the only one, then I'd make a call to an attorney - it may or may not be discrimination.

o

Many places have a policy that states you can terminate employment at any time for no reason and the employer can terminate employment at anytime for no reason. Sucks! Cobra has to be offered, but is usually VERY expensive. Check with social services may be able to get general assistance or something.

Vickey-MN

o