SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
pawprint1

Anyone Quit Smoking? Part 2

Pawprint
20 years ago

TNLady: I have had the same thoughts and wondered the same thing. I don't know anyone personally who has smoked all the way to old age and died of something else. BUT I do know that Lucille Ball, Bette Davis & Joan Crawford all smoked to their deaths. Which was in their 80's. THEN, I wonder, if cigarettes, years ago had MUCH less additives?

That would be the only explanation to me, as I've read the ingredience of a cigarette today, and the list is a mile long.

They smoked in the days of non filter cigarettes, and probably nothing more than tobacco in them.......

Thoughts?

Comments (111)

• Dancey
    19 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi Pawprint! I'm new to this GW forum. Was just surfing the different forums here and noticed your recent post. I'm a 'non-smoker' now too. Just stick with it you'll make it this time. I've quit and gone back several times. Stress has always been my downfall, at least that's what I've told myself. One time I was quit for 5 yrs. and started back. So foolish of me. I've been quit this time for almost 5 yrs. but I can't totally say I'm nicotine 'free'. I don't smoke anymore true, but I still chew a little gum now and then. sigh I'd always heard you could get addicted to the gum too. I buy the 2mg gum and then cut the little pieces in half. I talked to my doctor about this and I asked him wasn't the gum better than smoking and inhaling all that crud in your lungs. He grinned and said yes. But he said medically speaking he would like to see me totally nicotine free. Well for right now I'm still chewing once in a while. I do feel much better, have saved a bunch of money, and I should live longer. lol The only down side for me is I have gained weight! Yuk!! I know if I just put my mind to it I can drop the weight. It's just a matter of doing it. I hope you do good this time and I'm glad you have a new job you really like. ;)

Dancey