Return to the Grieving Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
My dad recently passed away

Posted by kristopc (My Page) on
Sun, Jun 7, 09 at 6:43

Im 22 years old. My dad recently passed away couple of weeks ago. He was 56 and passed away from a brain hemorrhage. It was pretty sudden. The hardest part was that our relationship with each other was growing so much. I have a younger sister whos 14 and I dont know how to help her thought this tough time as well. Now im supposed to be the "man of the house", but its hard. I find myself just wasting days, not doing anything, which isnt good because I'm a college student. I find myself crying and replaying the day I found out, over and over in my head. I just wish I can talk to him one last time to tell him how much i really appreciate him and love him. I just miss him so much. Everything about him.

I know a lot of people here had to deal with similar situations. If there is any advise that you guys can give me to help me overcome this difficult time, it would be great. I feel like i have no one to talk to, especially on matter like this. None of my friends can understand.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: My dad recently passed away

If you attend church, get your pastor/priest to recommend someone in the church that you can confide in; contact the hospital and ask them to give you names of anyone who you can discuss your emotions with(someone who is trained to deal with grief issues), look for a "grief therapy" group, if your family has medical insurance you can check to see if it covers pyschological visits.

You shouldn't really try to be the man of the house - you are a young adult, but you really shouldn't try to take on the burden of being 'the man of the house'. Your younger sibling should also get into counseling/grief therapy I would imagine.

My husband's mother died when he was 10 years old and it took him YEARS to get past that mainly because no one got him any counseling