Return to the Grieving Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
My baby sister killed herself...

Posted by westpsy (My Page) on
Sun, Feb 17, 13 at 20:52

and this is the first forum I found. I stayed with my parents for a week to help them but I am back where I work now. I tried to be strong for my family during the time but now that I am alone I feel this distant yearning, I don't feel right. I looked after her my whole life. She came to me for advice and I gave her the best I could. She suffered from mental illness so I got my masters in counseling in hopes of helping her. I just feel like I have failed her.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: My baby sister killed herself...

I am so sorry that you've lost your dear sister.

The life path of anyone who has "mental illness" (I don't think there's really such a thing; I think it's more accurate as well as kinder to call it "brain disfunction") is rocky & filled with obstacles.

& there's only so much they, or you, or I, can do to ease the journey.

Please remember what your education taught you;
we recover from grief & loss in stages, & each stage takes its own time.

You've taken on a lot of responsibility, to your sister & to your parents;
be as kind to yourself as you have been to others, be patient with yourself, give yourself *time*.

Again, I'm so very sorry, & I wish you the very best.

o

My thoughts are with you. I hope that you can find a support group for yourself at this difficult timel

o

God bless you. There is nothing more that you could have done. Don't let the enemy trick you into thinking this was your fault. Be strong and think of how she would want you to move forward.

o

I have to start by saying that I have never joined a forum in my life. I saw this and felt pulled to do so for about two days prior to giving in.