Return to the Grandparents Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Grandmothers - Can We Talk?

Posted by denora (My Page) on
Wed, Aug 17, 05 at 12:06

Are you a long distance grandmother? Are you a reluctant grandmother? Are you an overjoyed grandmother? Are you a fun-loving grandmother? Are you a babysitting grandmother? Are you a traveling grandmother? Are you a reading/teaching grandmother?

I am just beginning my grandmother years and am torn between being "an old fogey" having raised my children in the ancient times of the 70's and 80's and an intelligent well-read advocate of raising happpy/healthy children in the 2000's. My daughter looks to me for advice and direction, yet, at times, looks at me like I am crazy. What is your experience? Can you relate? Can we talk?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Grandmothers - Can We Talk?

Denora, I raised my sons in the 70's and 80's also.
I am traveling, babysitting (one day a week,(the ones close by), sometimes for a week with the 3 who live 100 mi from me.
I guess I do teach, like lots of excitement with things of nature, have started really talking science,(space station, shuttle etc.) with my 5 year old grandson.
My 3 year old gd is always repeating something I've said, got a memory like an elephant.
One thing I had sons, so I am wondering if its a little different when its your daughters children. I do try not to step on toes, I can remember how I felt with my mil.
Anyway I am an overjoyed gm for sure. Ladieg

o