Return to the Grandparents Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Hi Everyone !!!

Posted by nana-sandy (My Page) on
Sun, Jul 29, 07 at 9:04

I just found this forum and joined. Let me introduce myself---I am Sandy and have 7 going on 8 grandkids under the age of 11. I have been caring for one or the other of them for 11 years and there has been some great challenges and some really fun times. I do believe they are what keeps me 'young'. I am always looking for new ideas in being a great nana --I think this place will be fun and very educating.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Hi Everyone !!!

Hi
My gosh, you've been caring for a grandchild for a long time! I watch our one and only grandchild and I LOVE it. She's the light of my life. I would love to swap ideas with you. Our little princess is 2 yrs old. How old are the babies you care for?
Eileen

o
Well right now---

I care for my 19 mo old granddaughter----I started with her brother when he was a babe, he is now 11 and then I took care of their brother who is now almost 9 and they will soon have another sibling.I cared for the boys until they entered school. I also take care of the other grands now and then. And I have been doing it for free all those years. I would never have considered taking $$ for grandchildren.

o

I'm right with you there...I would never take a penny to watch my grandchild, either. I do it out of love and not wanting her to be in daycare. Who else would hold her and rock her when she's not feeling well, who else would play with her all day and tell her how wonderful she is...ME! :):)
Eileen

o

I just have one little granddaughter, 20 months old! We have her several days every week. This afternoon(Tuesday) she went home and we have had her since Friday. Our daughter works weird hours and is single parenting so Miss Precious spends lots of time with us! I'm so glad that we are the ones that get to spend so much time with her! She is just way too much fun!!

o