Return to the Grandparents Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
grandparents and reading

Posted by suzanne_gran (My Page) on
Wed, Mar 12, 08 at 13:47

Hello All,

I'm a new member, but not a new Gran. I've got two of those wonderful kids, boy 14 and girl 12.

I'm also a fulltime freelance writer and hope people in this group might want to participate in articles I write about grandparenting.

Moderator: If you want to check me out to be sure I'm legit, please email me at either writtersuz@aol.com or hall1958@aol.com.

Right now I desperately want some grandparent stories on how they encourage their grandchildren to read and love reading.

Please get in touch asap.

Thank you.
Suzanne

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: grandparents and reading

Good luck

o

When we travel we pick up books to share with the grandchildren. We recently went to Australia and purchased Australian nursery rymes and Wambat stew. Our grandchildren loved those. Our grandchildren range in age from 7 down to 2 year old twins and a new baby. We have a children's shelf of books and when they visit or we babysit at our house we always spend time reading. One thing I would share is that when you buy a book write yourname on the inside front cover and where and when you got the book. If you buy a book for them to keep, do the same and print a little note "to Susy--gramma and granddad got this for you on a trip to ___". or I got this at a little bookstore where there was a cat."
I recently was digging through boxes and found a book that my daughter in law received from her aunt 20 years ago.Auntie had written a cute note and dated it. You can be sure we will show it to the grandchildren for our next reading time.

o

I'm not a grandma yet but hope you won't mind me contributing my two cents, since I love to read.