Return to the Grandparents Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
In-Law jealousy

Posted by gammachar (My Page) on
Wed, Mar 3, 10 at 2:29

I am a new grandma as of a week ago. I find myself very jealous of my daughters boyfriend's mom. She has a grandson (six months old)already; this is my first. She doesn't work; I work 40-60 hrs per week. She spends every day over at my daughters house with my grandson. How do I get over this jealousy? What if my grandson loves her more than me because she is around him more? How do I make the time I have with him special as he grows?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: In-Law jealousy

I hate to sound callous, but get over it. When he is 16 he will only love the one who gives him money. We had 5 kids, 13 grands and have lost count of great grands we I have had some experience with it. LOL I live in a patio home development (98 homes) and there are mostly seniors around me. I know of two whose grand children come over. Only a few have children who visit, a lot of broken hearts here. I got over it a long time ago.

o

I feel sorry for your daughter, having to put up with her boyfriend's mom over there every day.
There are no easy answers but I am sure your grandchild will love you no matter what.

o

My goodness mamie he's just a newborn baby. There were no broken hearts in our family, we all visited my parents, all the time, in their retirement community, and the grandkids never asked for money. They adored my parents and my parents adored them (the other side of the family reaped what they sowed).

The same thing happened to me and I was caught totally by surprise by the intensity of the feelings. I don't think it's jealousy as much as a protective response for this newest member of the family. I managed to keep it under control until it slowly dissipated.