Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lamalu_gw

Gadgets you can't live without

lamalu
16 years ago

Hi! I'm looking for stocking stuffers for my BF. He's a self-employed landscaper/remodeler/carpenter/handyman who owns about every tool I can think of. I'm making him a christmas stocking and I'd love to fill it with items that will make his work easier. They have to be small [to fit in the stocking!], in the $5 - $10 range, and unusual enough that he might not already have one. He is also a hunter and fisherman.

What gadgets do you love?

Thanks!

Comments (7)

• lazypup
    16 years ago

I am a Plumber and I do a lot of renovation work in old homes before they have the electrical service turned on. This involves countless hours working in dark basements or crawlspaces and generally working alone.

Did you ever try holding a soldering torch in one hand, solder in the other and trying to figure out how to balance a flashlight?

My solution was to get an inexpensive headlamp that I attached to my hardhat with the supplied elastic band. In this manner the light is always pointing directly towards where i am looking, which is often very difficult when working with a helper because they can't always know where you need the light. Some people laugh when they see that light on my hat, but i can assure you that I would not want to be without it.

The one I have was made by Ray-O-vac and has an LED bulb and uses two AA batteries and cost about $10. The battery life is excellant too, about 12 to 16hrs on a pair of AA batteries.

The whole thing weighs in at bout 4oz but its worth its weight in gold when working in cramped quarters in a dark basement or crawlspace.

• lamalu
    Original Author
    16 years ago

That's an awesome idea! I would have never thought of that!
    Thanks!

• davidandkasie
    16 years ago