Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jerrypst

Garage Door (yes another) Remote control range problem

jerrypst
16 years ago

I have a LiftMaster opener that I've had for several years and used to work just fine. Both remotes could open/close from the street. Well, I had a new door installed and the remote range instantly decreased to near nothing. The remotes have to be within @4 feet of the door! The new door is a Raynor - Centura, steel insulated. While I can understand this may cause interference this is rediculous.

So I went through all the suggested list of things to check, replace batteries, re-program the opener and remotes, check circuit frequency interference. Nothing helped. So, I ordered and installed a 'antanae extension kit' from Lift Master. This is a coaxial cable that attaches to the existing antanae and then extends outside the house and has @6" metal wand at the end. This did absolutly nothing. To verify, I detached. Range is still @4 feet.

Any suggestions?

Comments (12)

• don_1_2006
    16 years ago

Does your range increase when the door is open? This really sounds like a logic board problem.

• jerrypst
    Original Author
    16 years ago

No. Actually the range is about the same. The remotes have best range about head high, 4 feet from the door but to the side of center, and only slight increase with door open.

• don_1_2006
    16 years ago

I was thinking the new door may have cut down on the range but your antenna extender should have compensated for that. I really feel it is the logic board at this time.

• jerrypst
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Yeah I'm with that. However, the reasons I didn't think that is it, is 1) severe decrease in range happened immediately after install of door and 2) I thought if it was a logic board issue, then the opener would be having other funky symptoms.

Any way to verify?

What do you think about this antenna extender coax cable being soldered directly to board where current antenna is?