Return to the Garages/Workshops Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Need advice on thru the wall HVAC for finished office in garage

Posted by tynash (My Page) on
Fri, Jun 29, 07 at 22:55

Hello. I am new to this but have been struggling with something I know nothing about. I am building a 35x25 garage with a 10x25 finished space to act as an office. I live in Columbus Ohio and temperatures of 0 in the winter over night is not uncommon. My question is that I need to find a way to heath this area. Obviously this space will be well insulated but I need a HVAC system capable of keeping it warm in the winter time. I have done some research on thru the wall systems with a heat pump built in to take care of the resistance heating. Also I have seen some cheaper models with just heat and cool. Should I opt for the heat pump models since it gets cold in my neck of the woods or would a normal heat/cool unit work. I am only looking to heat and cool about 250 sq/ft so it is a pretty small space.

Any help anyone could offer on this topic would be great.

Thank you all.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Need advice on thru the wall HVAC for finished office in gara

You might have more luck if you go to the HVAC forum.

http://ths.gardenweb.com/forums/hvac/

o
RE: Need advice on thru the wall HVAC for finished office in gara

If you haven't gotten any responses from the hvac threads, maybe I can give an opinion.
You have quite a few ways you could go, it depends on how much wall space you have, how worried you are about the looks and whether you want to spend the money now on the unit, or later on the energy.