Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
leaningoakranch

Help with reconnecting electrical

leaningoakranch
17 years ago

Hello everyone, I am a novice to electrical wiring, but would like to try reconnecting power to an old building on my property. I will give you a breakdown of what wiring is what on my property and what I am trying to accomplish. Let me know if more info is needed, and I will respond right away. I just want power back to this building as quickly and easily as possible. I will try and post pictures of any of the panels or connections as requested.

Ok, so here goes. There is an old (70's) single wide mobile home on my property that I have converted to a woodshop. I replaced all the subflooring, and flooring in the home, and plan on replacing all of the receptacles and lights with new. It is about 35 feet from the main utility pole. The pole has the meter, and a 200 amp(federal) main panel attached to the meter. There are two single pole 125amp breakers on one side of this panel, and two single pole 50amp breakers on the other side of the panel and about 12 blanks. I assume that the two 125amp breakers connect to the main house load center which is on the other side of the property about 400ft from the pole. I believe the two 50amp breakers connect power to a box which feeds the barn which is approximately 250ft from the pole in the same direction as the main house and the old single wide that I want to connect, but that is currently not receiving power. Let me know if I am wrong in this assumption, but I believe that to be correct.