Return to the Furniture Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Buying my first bedroom set & overwhelmed - Broyhill, Vaughan..?

Posted by AcidPop (My Page) on
Sun, Sep 23, 12 at 12:12

I'm a recent college graduate looking to buy my first bedroom set. Given the economy, I wasn't able to find a great job even though I worked my butt off in college. So although I could afford a $5000 set with money I have in the bank, I don't want to. It wouldn't be a smart move for me at the moment. I'm really looking for a bedroom set (including the bed, a nightstand, and a dresser) that doesn't cost over $2000, as I also want to buy a curio cabinet for my room. My question is, can I get decent quality furniture for this price, and if so, what brands should I be looking at? I've already found a Broyhill set (the attic heirloom collection?) that I liked, as the mink finish was very unique, but I found pretty poor reviews for them online. I then found a Vaughan-Bassett set I like, but once again found a lot of people bad-mouthing them. Now, I know that there will always be negative reviews for pretty much every company, but I'm terrified of spending over $1000 on furniture that will only last a few years. I want something much more durable. I DON'T want to have to repurchase furniture in 5 years. Can anyone help me? I feel so overwhelmed at the moment between trying to find this furniture and a decent mattress.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Buying my first bedroom set & overwhelmed - Broyhill, Vaughan

Get to an antiques shop....or a resale consignment shop. You will find a lot better quality for less money than the new shop...
For $2000 you won't find a "set" of any sort of good quality. You will need to spend a minimum of $500 on mattress and box springs. That leaves only $1500 for dresser night stand curio cabinet and perhaps a chair or bench.