Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shelly9000

Where to purchase a Canopy Replacement For Patio Swing

shelly9000
16 years ago

Hi I have a Martha Stewart Everyday Victoria Three-Seat Swing (Mfr. model# 92061011). I bought it from K-Mart a few years back. Does anyone know where to purchase a replacement for the canopy. The one I have is torn up. Thanks for the help.

Comments (6)

• revisions
    16 years ago

i have the same thing with the same type of problem....mildewy and stuff....yuck....perhaps trying to write the company????
    ~reVISIONS

• chelone
    16 years ago

Oh boy, I work in the canvas/awning business and made 3 of those replacement covers a week/two ago. I HATE making them! but only because customers come in with the old, tattered cover. If you can take the top frame off the swingset bring THAT with you. Here's why:

To hold down costs manufacturers use cheap materials; usually fibres that are ill-suited to more than a couple of year's in direct UV contact. Martha Stewart doesn't care! nor does K-Mart. If you put up a big enough stink they might replace the entire unit just to be rid of you. Copying a clearly defunct top only guarantees another that will fit poorly, if at all. Whenever a customers says, "It's OK, just copy this one" all liability falls on their shoulders! if it doesn't fit properly it's not our fault... as long as our "duplicate" matches the tattered one given to us! Remember that.

The 3 I recently made were made from 100% solution dyed acrylic fabric ("Sunbrella") and stitched with 100% polyester thread in 92 weight. They required about 3 yds. ($60) and took 1 1/2-2 hrs. to pattern, cut, and complete (between $75-100 labor). Not cheap, by a long shot, but the covers I made will last minimally 5-6 yrs. before requiring a restitch to reinforce degraded thread.