o
Stripping or Restaining Dresser?

Posted by blakeas (My Page) on
Sun, Apr 1, 07 at 16:13

I want to restain this piece of furniture:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v243/blakeas/Picture003.jpg

to match the stain of this piece of furniture:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v243/blakeas/Picture005.jpg

How do I do that? It looks like i have a finish on the first piece of furniture. Do i just start to the stain the piece of furniture? I have never done this before so I thought I would ask the experts...

Thanks, and sorry for the dumb question.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Stripping or Restaining Dresser?

That's a pretty drastic change. There are processes and materials that can be used to shift the color a bit. I don't think this would qualify for any of those. Stain is normally meant to be applied to raw wood, and not just added over the top.

The way I'd recommend getting there is to strip, sand, and re-stain. This looks to be what some manufacturers call "espresso," "mocha," or "java" and what I call "beverage" colors. I would probably use a multi-step process to get this color - pre-stain red, a dark brown-black stain, and possibly a glaze to tweak the color. The below link, though not exactly the same, outlines a process for getting this. Somewhere between Finish 2 and Finish 3.

Add in an additional difficulty that the first unit is pine, notorious for not taking stain well and you have a significant challenge.

You might consider having a professional strip and refinish if you are serious.

You may get pitched or tempted to try just top coating with an all-in-one finish like Polyshades(r). This is a terrible idea likely to give very disappointing results.

Here is a link that might be useful: Mission FInish

o

so you are basically saying I just need to buy a new dresser?

o

If "you have never done this before," I'd say probably yes, unless you want to give up golf for the summer and use up a quota of swear words on your refinishing project :-)