Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lynninnewmexico

Quick Opinions Needed on: Legacy Leather and USA Premium Leather

lynninnewmexico
12 years ago

I'm a regular over on the GW Decorating forum, but this is my first time here. I have a dilemma that I hope you all can help me with.

DH & I are looking to buy a replacement leather sofa for our family room. We are willing to pay up to $4,000.00 for one, but naturally would love to find one for less.

We have found sofas that would work well by Hancock & Moore, USA Premium Leather and Legacy Leather.

I do understand that H&M is probably the best quality of the three, but DH is hoping for a higher back. The only furniture store in the area that sells this brand has a few on the floor, but only one that we care for in our home.

I also found one by USA Premium Leather in the perfect color and design style, sold by a very reputable large furniture store in town. Full grain, aniline dyed, 8-way hand tied, solid hardwood, double-doweled frame. But, I'm still leery about this company's former reputation. I know from my internet investigations that USA Premium Leather was formerly Viewpoint Leather, but was renamed when the grandfather died in 2010 or 11 and the grandson took over. Did the quality change? Get better?

The last one, by Legacy Leather (out of Canada) also looks to be a contender, but again has the lower back. Not low, but at 34", lower than what DH would prefer, as he has some mild upper back and neck problems. Again, same supposed good points as the rest :Full grain, aniline dyed leather, 8-way hand tied, solid hardwood, double-doweled frame

Anyhoo, what I'm interested in the most is your opinions as to the quality of furniture these companies are producing now, not 10 years ago, as we all know how that can change!

Thanks so much for any and all info and opinions!

Lynn

Comments (8)

• freethinker99
    12 years ago