Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
moolah_gw

Recommendations for well-made mid-priced sofas in NYC

Moolah
11 years ago

Hi, I actually posted an earlier question about Sofa.com. I'm based in NYC and I'm looking to purchase a well-made, moderately priced sofa - my budget is about $2k. This is my first time purchasing a sofa and I wondered if anyone could recommend a good store that sold well-made sofas or sofa brands I should look out for. Based on this forum and other websites, it seems that I should try and steer clear from C&B, EA, PB and RH or at the least tread with caution. Unfortunately, these are the most accessible stores for me.

I've been looking at Room & Board and Sofa.com (partly for aesthetic reasons) and also Macy's, but I would like to hear from those who've had success purchasing sofas in the NYC area or in places where you're restricted to the usual furniture chains (and with no car).

I know to ask about the construction if the sofa is US made, the wood is kiln-dried, the wiring is sinous or 8-way, and the cushioning is high density foam or down or both as well as lifting the sofa to test the weight and the all important sitting in the sofa. Any other questions to ask or things to look out for?

Thanks!

Comments (10)

• kateskouros
    11 years ago

have you been to ABC down on 18th / broadway? i've had great luck with them. i think everything they carry is very good quality. you should really take a look.

• Moolah
    Original Author
    11 years ago

kateskouros - Thanks for the ABC suggestion! Actually, I would have never considered them, because when I've looked in the past for other items, most recently an area rug, they were well above my price range, even on sale. Beautiful, well-made items, but pricey. After reading your suggestion, I took a look online and was surprised by the prices. I'm going to try and stop by soon and check out the sofas in person. Hopefully, there will be one that I like that will fit in my tiny apartment.