Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
car57_gw

Engineered floors with hdf instead of plywood?

car57
10 years ago

I'm installing engineered hardwoods in my home, and have come across some brands which now use hdf instead of plywood for the under layers. Anderson makes a "Rideau Plank Maple" using high density fiberboard, and the rep said most Shaw products are moving to hdf b/c it is more moisture and dent resistant than plywood. Does anyone have an informed opinion on whether one is better than the other for moisture and dent resistance?

Comments (4)

• glennsfc
    10 years ago

Of course, I'm not a flooring product engineer, but I'd have to say on the face of it I think it's baloney.

Were manufacturers able to impregnate the wood fibers of the high density fiberboard with a water-resistive resin, then maybe it would be an improvement over plywood cores. Perhaps they have done that, but I wouldn't know for sure.

Good luck with your project.

• car57
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Well, yes, actually. The rep said the hdf has been impregnated with resin which makes it more water proof than plywood, in addition to being harder than plywood. I don't know who to believe, and there seem to be conflicting views. Anyone else?

• gregmills_gw
    10 years ago

Just remember what ever the sales guy says doesnt mean its true. His job is to bring money in. That being said is he lieing to you? Who knows? I dont.

Does the HDF sound better? Sure does. One way to tell is to play the waiting game. If virtually every mill makes that move than i would say it is. But if in a years time the fad kinda of dies than it was just a fad.