Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jaansu

repair of deep scratches in new oak floor

jaansu
13 years ago

It seems my son tilted his chair and created a few shallow gouges in our 1 yr old sanded in oak floor. They are not particularly noticeable but do seem to have penetrated the poly and stain finish. Can I improve the appearance and durability if I first try to match the surrounding color by using a wood stain and then cover with new poly? I'd like to try to level these gouges somehow. I have heard shellac sticks mentioned in this forum and it sounded as if these could be melted into scratches and might level them off. Any thoughts?

The chairs do have felt pads but tilting the chair got around them. Someone told me these pads need to be replaced 4X a year. Why so frequently?

Comments (7)

• hilltop_gw
    13 years ago

Sorry, can't help you with the gouge problem. My wood floor is starting to get some scratches, or as we call them "memory marks" and I'm just learning to live with them. They're not severe and add character to the floor.

Replacing the felt pads often is like low-cost insurance for your floor. Since the chairs are generally in the same vicinity (by table or island), where food and shoe dust collect, having clean felt is wise. As pads collect the grit they become almost like sand paper on the floor. Plus, the felt can shift position due to the weight and movement of the chair so they need to be checked periodically.

• jaansu
    Original Author
    13 years ago

I've been cleaning the pads monthly with a small wire brush, figuring the dirt/grit would drop out. Seems to work.

• woodfloorpro
    13 years ago