Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
karle13_gw

Laying engineered hardwood

karle13
10 years ago

Is there a rule of thumb as to which way the hardwood should be run? We are doing the whole 1st floor which is an open floor plan! Just wondering how to determine if , starting at the front double doors the floor should go straight or sideways??

Comments (3)

• April
    10 years ago

Good question! I will be following this thread along which you as I'm curious what others have to say. I know the room will look bigger (longer) if the boards run vertically as you enter the door. But I guess it also depends on the subfloor and how the boards have to be oriented based on that - but not sure if that matters with engineered wood?

• MiaOKC
    10 years ago

I am a DIYer not pro, but I think the rule of thumb is to run longways through the room (if the subfloor allows, i.e. perpendicular to the joists). In my old house (built 1959) we pulled up carpet to expose original hardwoods which were run the 'wrong' way, shortwise across the room. However, that was correct for the joist position. When we added flooring to the adjacent areas, in two halls and a kitchen, we went with longwise to each area, which means the wood ended up turned 90 degrees from adjacent areas in multiple places. So our floor was not 'correct' throughout but our installer told us it's really a matter of personal preference and he sees people do it both ways. It's also a dark color, so not quite as obvious I'm sure.