Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mjsee_gw

Experts:How difficult is DIY application of Ardex Feather Finish?

mjsee
13 years ago

BACKSTORY FIRST:

I'm pretty handy...I can fix holes/cracks in plaster and drywall, but I've never used Ardex/leveled a floor before.Or even a horizontal surface. We are finally addressing one of our basement bedrooms. Pulled up the old carpet (no visible mold or mildew on the carpet or the pad), pulled up and disposed of the 9x9 asbestos tiles (Yes, we did it correctly and they came up with frightening ease.) Of course I'm left with black cutback adhesive.

Because this is a temporary fix until we re-configure/re-floor the basement I decided to go with an inexpensive floating floor--HD's Allure. I've used it in the past with success. That time I put it down right over the black cut-back. Years later, no problems. This time I'm considering the Ardex because once we got the carpet and tiles up, the room suddenly smelled like "basement". Even after sweeping, vacuuming, and mopping. You know...musty. The rest of that part of the basement (formerly an auxilary apartment) still has sheet vinyl or carpet and smells fine.

Talked to the flooring "expert" at HD (who seemed to know what she was talking about) and she said I definitely need to seal with a cementaceous product. She recommended Ardex--and I know I've read about Ardex here.

Finally--the questions:

1) Do I really NEED to put the Ardex down? I'd rather not...but will if y'all think it advisable. (I think I know the answer to this one!)

2) I'm a little nervous about getting the stuff even/smooth...because with that cutback I KNOW I done' want to be sanding up any errors. Is it fairly easy? Or should I find someone who wants some extra work to do that part for me?

3) Is there anything else you folks thing I need to know that I've not mentioned here?

Thanks!

Comments (12)

• glennsfc
    13 years ago