Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
txbluebonnet11

Hardwood Floor Finish - Waterlox vs. Osmo vs. Pallmann Oil

TXBluebonnet11
10 years ago

We are trying to choose a finish for our hardwood flooring, which will either be hickory or white oak. I have narrowed it down to Waterlox, Osmo Hard Oil Wax, Woca or Pallmann Hard Oil Wax finishes. I am wondering if anyone could provide input or experiences on these finishes. We are having a great deal of difficulty making a decision.

This post was edited by TXBluebonnet11 on Thu, Oct 3, 13 at 17:32

Comments (5)

• UFSC
    10 years ago

I am a contractor and distributor for Pallmann but also use Treatex which is like Osmo.

Pallmann is a catalysed oil, very good for high foot traffic and very easy to get a perfect low satin sheen on if you know how to apply it. It is a penetrating product only and a surface build cannot be achieved. Osmo and Treatex can be applied thin and be "in the timber" but normally there is a surface build which means you can have different sheen levels (matt sati or gloss). Hard wax oils have better chemical resistance but because they have surface build it is possible to scratch them, both are easily repairable should you damage a small area and the repair would blend in in time.

Waterlox is a basic tung oil based product and cannot be compared to either of the above for durability, it will give the look but require more maintenance.

• Jeff
    10 years ago

I received some samples of walnut flooring finished with Waterlox. I did not like them. First, the original Waterlox finish was too glossy for my taste as I prefer a more matte finish. Second, the Waterlox imparted a yellow/amber color which I did not think looked appropriate for walnut.

• MiaOKC
    10 years ago