Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tinytexan

Online flooring prices

tinytexan
13 years ago

Hello all! I have been a lurker these past few weeks as we embark on a pretty significant remodel in our house. The information I have gotten here has been invaluable so far, but this is my first time posting my own question.

We are Using a KD who has been helpful thus far, and I do feel like I can trust her, but in the past couple of days we have run into a hiccup that is causing me some concern. We were thinking about laying down travertine on about 1080 sq ft., but the cost with install was coming to about $15K. Tthis was more than we wanted to spend so we thought the daltile San Michele porcelain tile would be a more affordable option. Our KD priced it at about $5.50/sq ft. Here is the issue, I found it online for about $3.50/ sq ft. That is a $2000 difference. KD tells me that it must be a "bad batch" of the tile probably. Supposedly this is what her Daltile guy told her. I don't want to start down the path of distrusting her, but I also want to do my due diligence and get the most for my money. If I'm going to pay $5.50 per sq foot for porcelain, I would just as soon pay $8.50/ sq ft for the travertine.

So, I guess my question is whether or not what she is saying is correct, or is she taking the route that is easiest for without regards to my budget.

Btw the online flooring was at Fastfloors.com.

I apologize if this question has been asked before

Comments (7)

• echoflooring
    13 years ago

I will look it up and give you my opinion. Awfully big spread on Daltile and Daltine could give a hoot about online retailers..So I will look up cost.

• gryane
    13 years ago