Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
renovate_gw

Recommendations for Unfinished Hardwood?

Renovate
10 years ago

Hi, this is my first time posting to this forum, although I have browsed here before. I am in the middle of having my house gut renovated. To make a long story short, I was going to go with prefinished wood floors, and all the research I had done on the subject of hardwood, installation, suppliers, manufacturers, etc., had to do with prefinished. As it turns out, things have changed and I'm going to go with unfinished hardwood that will be finished on site. I know that I want either red or white oak, 2 1/4 inch strips, but what I'm not sure about is what brand to get.

In my prefinished research I read many horror stories and warnings of what not to buy. I have not heard the same horror stories about unfinished wood, but maybe that's because I've just started my research. Or could it be because there are less problems with unfinished wood in general?

But in any case, I have to pick out the wood and buy it within the next few days so I don't have a lot of time to decide. Can anyone here recommend a good brand to go with?

Thanks in advance for any information.

Comments (5)

• glennsfc
    10 years ago

Domestic oak is a commodity and price and availability will vary by region. Any well-established mill is what you want and a reliable distributor. Check out the suppliers contractors buy from. Many times they will sell directly to you.

If you can find Mullican...great. Smith and Zickgraf OK too. Don't know much about what the big box stores distribute or brands.

Unfinished is packaged two different ways. Some are large bundles which contain different lengths in the bundle and some are individually bundled in specific lengths and you get what the distributor gives you, in other words a bundle of 7 footers, five footers, three footers and so forth.