Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mtejoy

Schluter Ditra problem?

mtejoy
9 years ago

Hi, newbie here. Appreciate the help in advance.

Have a question.

We have a room about 200+ sqft that's going to be tiled, and we bought the Schluter Ditra product thinking of using it as the membrane because the room/house has concrete uneven problem that needs to be patched(using rubber cement), leveled/flattened, then underlayment, then 12x12 tiles.

But the contractor I'm thinking about hiring said he has used it in many applications in the past and had lots of warranty issues. He said it is notorious for de laminating, even used it per the manufactures specs (non modified thinset and trowel the surface to adhere the thinset to the mat.)

So he's recommending the paint on type membrane, said it will produce a much better end result.

I've searched a bit on the net and there are a lot of discussion of wrong thinset cause installation problem, but with right thinset, will there still a lot potential installation problems? In essence, does what the contractor said made sense?

Thanks,
May

Comments (5)

• GreenDesigns
    9 years ago

NEXT! Any contractor that has "lots" of warranty issues with anything is someone you don't want to use. Especially if he's talking about using rubber cement to level a floor!

• mtejoy
    Original Author
    9 years ago

The rubber cement (or rubber something, I can't remember, so I thought it's rubber cement) is used to patch the existing concrete cracks, then will use leveling compound to level/flatten the floor. Then thinset, the membrane, then thinset and the tile.

But my question remains, even if I don't use this contractor, I need to know if the Schluter Ditra is good for my situation and what's the potential installation problems I need to look out for when selecting contractors.

Thanks, May

• StoneTech
    9 years ago