Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrsdindinbaby

What do you have for your kitchen floor?

Hubby and I are getting ready to break ground on our way out in the country house in the Flinthills and I'm having trouble deciding on the kitchen floor. We had hardwood in our last house and hated it. Wood plus constant exposure to water equalled a big pain. What do you have that you love? We are DINKS with a small dog and I'm an avid cook/baker/canner.

Comments (18)

• weedyacres
    10 years ago

Porcelain tile with epoxy grout. Durable, stain-resistant, and aesthetically pleasing.

• Laurie
    10 years ago

Porcelain tile and thin grout joints. Our tiles are 18" x 18".

• giacomoB
    10 years ago

We have stoneware porcelains tiles in our kitchen that really seem wood. No water problems and no..dog problems with them ;) check the link below if you want, these are ours (not the house, just tiles!)

bye

Here is a link that might be useful: old wood tiles

• niteshadepromises
    10 years ago

Don't have it yet but Hubby and I are also DINKS with feline companions and are going the LVT route. Tile was our first choice then we started worrying about floors being cold, hard etc. I don't know if we're going the right direction or not with LVT, but that or tile really are the best choices it seems for the pet friendly flooring

• pcweary
    10 years ago

I, too, went with LVT and do not regret my decision at all. At decision making time, it was narrowed down to an Alterna off white with grout or Nafco Permastone slate with grout lines. The Permastone won!

I arrived at this decision because I have bad knees and wanted some resiliency plus, the less hassle in putting it down was major for me. Appliances, etc. could be moved back the same day. No grout drying time.

Very easy maintenance.....the Alterna is beautiful but I am delighted with the results of the Permastone.

• annaceil333
    10 years ago