Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
missylin_gw

Pet friendly flooring

missylin
11 years ago

I have a very hairy little Pekingese. I had 2 a while back and the older one's "mistakes" stained my carpeting to the point it would even be embarrassing for someone to come inot my house and measure for new flooring. Anyway, I am debating between wood, engineered wood, bamboo and "luxury vinyl." Cost is a factor as I'm a retired teacher. Made little enough money when I was working. ggg I hate the feeling of tile underfoot, and it's difficult for dogs with arthritis to walk on. My house is very small, and my wood furniture is rather dark in color and some is cherry, but my upholstery, drapes, etc. is very pastel. Suggestions?? Please help. I almost fainted at the prices of these applications compared to carpeting- but I just think I need to switch.

Comments (16)

• GreenDesigns
    11 years ago

All of those except vinyl will become damaged by pet urine. And if urine gets under the pieced vinyl, ick. Sheet vinyl would be fine. The only other flooring that won't be damaged is tile with epoxy grout. You can put down inexpensive area rugs to add softness. They can be tossed in the washer if you need to due to the accidents.

• missylin
    Original Author
    11 years ago

my dog I have now does not have a problem. our other dog was very ill, the one who stained teh carpet. I really don't like walking on tile and my house is too small to break it up with area rugs.

• greenthumbfish
    11 years ago

missylin,

I have the same issue and have decided to go with luxury vinyl planks because individual planks can be replaced easily.

HTH

• desertsteph
    11 years ago