Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
caseybauer

tung oil finish on pine - any thoughts on maintenance?

caseyb
18 years ago

Wondering if anyone has any experience with this finish in terms of maintenance. Our (old school) floor finisher is coming on Monday to do our pine floors, and his product of choice is tung oil. We'll have him stain first. Anything I should know?

Comments (45)

• baton_rouge
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I have tung oil on my " solid red oak floors after having them stained a brownish red. I also had an "old school" floor installer/finisher. This was new construction. Most of the flooring contractors donÂt want to do the tung oil (very time consuming) or they have had no experience with it. I have had a lot of experience with tung oil, I grew up in my motherÂs ancestral home that was built in about 1872 and her floors have always been oiled. Her floors are gorgeous as mine are too. I would post a photo of my floors but as of now I am not comfortable posting photos of my home on the internet.

Oiled floors are VERY easy to take care of. When you get a scratch on your floor, all you have to do is apply the tung oil and buff it out. My mother never had her floors sanded, she just had a guy apply more oil with rags, wipe it off and then buff with a soft rag.

I donÂt think you will see many complaints from people on this board who have oiled floors complaining about scratches on their oiled floors. Most of the complaints are from people who have prefinished or poly on their floor. The scratches really show up on those floors.

I think your pine floors will look beautiful with a tung oil finish. Just be sure it is 100% tung oil.

Elizabeth Anne

• jrdwyer
    18 years ago