Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newskilz_gw

I Need HELP! Minwax????

newskilz
10 years ago

I need your help! We are having a meeting tonight with a wood floor refinisher. I have just found out he uses Minwax stains. I know they have been around forever but I also know so many people here on the boards use other products like Bona Traffic, Glitsa Maxx, Inifinity etc. We have red oak floors that are totally beaten up and we want to have a greyed weather look on the floor with a satin hardwax oiled finish on top. Is using the MINWAX the way to go? or should we insist he uses something more contemporary? This person was recommended by a friend - but I'm just wondering if Minwax is as good of a product as the newer stains/products? I have never worked with a refinisher before so I am not sure what I can really request of someone or do I need to find someone else?

Comments (6)

• User
    10 years ago

You're not getting that look with .98 Bubba and Minwax. That's a higher end highly skilled flooring professional who uses professional products. Based on the trendy look you say you want, I would cancel the meeting and move on up the food chain. Even a pro will have a difficult time producing that with red oak instead of white oak.

• newskilz
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you for your advice. I know that this would be a challenge, and I was thinking we would have to have the floors bleached first maybe?? Not sure. What is .98 Bubba? Are you saying that Minwax is not a "professional" product? I am asking because I really have no education in this area as of yet. Any information is welcome.

• User
    10 years ago