Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
emcloud

Hardwood floor repair/refinish questions

emcloud Fish
10 years ago

I'm about to refinish my kitchen floor as part of a larger remodel. I've never done this before and I have a number of questions.

Note: I don't need the floor to come out looking brand new. I subscribe to the 'imperfection creates character' approach in this case.

I'm told the floor is heart pine, original from the house, which was built in 1910. The floor is covered with various layers of previous adhesives, tar paper, possibly some tile residue, etc.

Q1: there are hundreds of nails and tacks in the floor. What is the best way to remove these? I've been using vice grips, which work pretty well, but sometimes create a nice gouge in the floor.
Q2: How much of the tar paper/adhesive reside do I need to remove before I start sanding. Also, what is the best way to do this? I've seen various advise on the web and have tried mineral spirits, hot water, and scraping. Scraping works but is a pain and very time consuming. Incidentally, my cat threw up on the floor the other day, and the residue came right up in that area, so I was thinking of trying an acid to see if that works. Thoughts?

Q3: I need to replace some rotted boards. Ideally I would remove long sections of these boards and reuse the salvageable sections as shorter replacement boards. Is there a good way to remove long sections of boards where the adjacent boards to be removed vary in length? It seems that I could probably cut the boards out along the edges (removing the tongue in the process) - would that create much of a problem as far as reinstallation goes?

Q4: When reinstalling the replacement boards, should I use some sort of adhesive to attach them to the joists, or just nail them in, or both? I'm planning to attach cleats to the joists to give myself a little more support at the ends.

I guess that's enough for now. Thanks in advance for any help!

Comments (35)

• lazy_gardens