Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lindarenee_gw

Tips for finishing new hardwood flooring?

lindarenee
13 years ago

We are using Black Walnut boards from our property for flooring in our son's new house. (dining and living room areas) My husband has installed the boards. They are beautiful and ready to be sanded. The finishing process is making me nervous. Any tips for a flawless finish? Any preferences in polyurethane? The kids have two dogs. Thank you!

Comments (19)

• art_teacher_mom
    13 years ago

We have finished and refinished wood floors in previous homes. I am no expert, but I will say we had horrible experience with minwax products. (Wouldn't dry, peeled when it finally did dry.)
    We had good experience with Verathane and Waterlox and also Deft.
    A relative of ours told us do NOT sand above 80 grit or the stain will not soak in properly. He also recommended a method called "water popping" where you damp-mop the raw wood with water first to open the grain a bit. You could probably look this up. (He does this for a living in Napa Valley, so I trust him!)
    My main point was to stay away from Minwax on floors!

• lindarenee
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thank you, I appreciate all advice! I want the kids to have beautiful floors to enjoy for years. We will stay away from minwax and research the water popping.

• glennsfc
    13 years ago

If you can't hire a professional, then you are going to have a steep learning curve to negotiate. Be aware that most floor finishing products available to the average consumer are not a good quality. If at all possible, you want to purchase from a floor materials dealer or an internet vendor after you decide what finishing product you want to use.

Lots of ways to finish wood...learn all you can, even if you go with a professional. You will then know what you are paying for.

• oldhousegal
    13 years ago

Do you want to go toxic or non-toxic?