Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gregmills_gw

Attention pros. Need advice

gregmills_gw
10 years ago

Been holding out as long as possible but im find myself needing to use Rubio monocoat as a finish. 1600 ft. Maple/red oak.

Just looking for any tip/tricks/advice anyone woud be willing to share to make this job go smooth.

Thanks.

Comments (5)

• User
    10 years ago

It's fairly simple to use but apply it sparingly and you'll have to buff a lot to remove the excess. The biggest issues are making sure the floor is extra clean before applying and removing all the excess finish, paying extra attention to edges, corners and doorways.
    We apply it with a dish soap bottle and buff it in.

• gregmills_gw
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks JFCwood. Im applying it tomorrow. Will let you know how bad i mess it up haha. :)

• MiaOKC
    10 years ago

I'm not a pro! But since your thread hasn't exactly blown up with responses ... I'll throw in my two cents. We used Pallmann's Magic Oil, which is somewhat similar, but I haven't used RMC. My husband and I did 1500 sf red oak in a dark brown/black custom mix. Since you are a pro yourself I won't bore you with all the details, but we followed the directions to a T and had a fairly good experience. A few things of note that we learned from our experience:

They are not kidding about the screening marks - swirls are evident to my critical eye in a few places where the grain was very clear, even though we thought we'd done a good job with very thorough sanding. This is obviously more important with the darker finish. Just for posterity in case anyone uses this to research later - as a DIYer, I will do my final pre-sand with the square buff sander when I do my downstairs floors.