Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
organic_june

Stone border around Wood Floor

organic-june
17 years ago

Hi everyone,

This is my first time in this wonderful forum and I should say that this is absolutely a very helpful site. Now this is a question I have been dealing with for a while. My question is regarding flooring in my living room and dining room, which are two separate rooms. I like to have a big square of dark engineered wood at the center and then around it have beige travertine. So there would be only a couple of rows of stone around the room and then wood would be at the center of the room.

I like to know what are pros and cons about this; do you think cleaning of stone or wood can have negative affect on each other?!

I appreciate your input very much.

Comments (23)

• ccoombs1
    17 years ago

I'v seen it done before and it is beautiful! The way they did it was to install a metal trim strip that the tile butts up to on one side, and the wood on the other. I think you'd have to use engineered wood because of the potential for expansion and contraction solid wood would have. You couldn't butt solid wood up to the trim strip.

• organic-june
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thanks ccoombs1 for your informative advice. I think it would look nice also, so I am going to see a contractor today and I will mention what you are suggesting.
    I will keep you posted of what I decide to do.

• ccoombs1
    17 years ago

The trim strip I saw was sold by the tile store. It has a nailing strip on one side. The nailing strip is covered by the tile. Be sure to post pics of your completed project!

• organic-june
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thanks again for the info. I just talked to a floor contractor, he is mainly in tile and travertine and he said he will bring another person regarding wood floor. So whenever they both are here I'll let them know about your advice.
    I sure will post pics and keep you updated.

• ccoombs1
    17 years ago