Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
busymombuilder

rug pad for hardwood?

busymombuilder
14 years ago

I am new to being in a house with hardwood floors and need some info. What type of material should the pad under an area rug be?

Also - any thoughts on the best material for the rug itself - it will be in a formal dinning room so the more stain resistant the better.

One more - how big of a rug should I get for a 12' x 14' room?

any help would be great - thanks

Comments (5)

• phila_2009
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

they make a special pad for hardwood .
    Depends on how big your pocketbook is .
    Wool would be my first choice .

• brickeyee
    14 years ago

You at least need the very thing anti slip pad.

Not as important if the dining room table is on the rug to anchor it.

• jakkom
    14 years ago

We've had hardwood in two different homes for the last 40 years. We collect hand-made rugs but also have some machine-made, so we cover the gamut - wool to silk to olefin to polypropylene. I've had at least half a dozen of them under the DR table at various times, so here's the skinny from our considerable experience:

- A good rug pad will help a good-quality rug last longer. Conversely, though, because it makes it more plush underfoot, it makes it more difficult to scoot those chairs in and out! Personally, I love my rugs so I use pads under all of them, whether machine-made or hand-made. As I have a bad back and sciatica, I gave up appearance (nice traditional chairs that match the big DR table) for a set of used Herman Miller desk chairs with wheels. Not beautiful, but they scoot nicely over any rug, LOL. I've had guests tell me they're in love with how comfy the chairs are - which they should be, as these originally cost $800/ea and are fully adjustable in every way.