Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
masonsc

Comment: Installation instructions from Carpet and Rug Institute?

MasonSc
12 years ago

I am not a carpet expert! Just wanted to get that out of the way because I know there are many here.

For those like me who know little, I found this document very interesting:

http://www.carpet-rug.org/carpet-and-rug-industry/installation-resources.cfm

Some highlights (for me at least):

16.3 With the exception of fiber cushions, secure seams with appropriate vinyl-coated cloth cushion tape per the carpet cushion manufacturer's recommendations.

16.5.1 Using a Mechanical Stretching Device (i.e. Power Stretcher) is Mandatory. Devices used as a substitute for, or an attachment to such devices that penetrate through the carpet backing may cause injury, damage carpet or substrates, or result in inadequate stretch. Such devices are not acceptable.

. . . among others.

I wonder if any of our resident experts have any comments on this document and what it prescribes? Anything you disagree with and why?

Just wondering, because we will soon be doing ~ 600 ft in our new basement, but had hurricane damage and will shortly be doing another 500-1000 ft in other parts of our house.

Thanks!

Comments (9)

• Floortech
    12 years ago