Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tompowers535

Choosing a pellet stove

tompowers535
18 years ago

Hi,

I'm a newbie to this forum and would like some help choosing a free standing pellet stove. I am actually shopping for next year so availability is not an issue. I am more concerned with reliabilty, availability of replacement parts, BTU output, warranty, etc...

It looks like there are a lot or Harmans out there and although there seems to be good comments about them, it does seem that there are some customer service issues and warranty service issues.

I was told that top feeders are better because the flame is less likely to "back up" into the auger assembly which makes some sense to me.

I am not sure of the advatages or disadvantages of having air intake from the room or getting it from outside. I thought I had seen somewhere that it affected the flame and BTU output.

I have been starting to look and have seen Harman, Quadrafire, and Enviro. The Enviro was a top loader and seemed to be good but I haven't seen much talk about them.

I am located in Massachusetts and need to heat a moderate sized house. I would appreciate any input you could give me.

Sorry for all of the questions but I just want to make an informed decision. Thank you.

Comments (25)

• zeta
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hey Tom
    I researched for about 6 months before we bought our St Croix Prescott. We chose this particular stove because it is authorized by the manufacturer to burn a pellet/corn mix. While many people who own other brands do mix corn, I'd be wary of doing such with a stove that isn't specifically designed for it. Corn generally burns hotter and costs less, although here in MA it runs a close 2nd to pellets in cost, probably because it's cleaned and bagged.