Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jkh1998

Looking to purchase pellet or coal stove - any advice?

jkh1998
18 years ago

I have basic knowledge of stoves and my differnt options, but am wondering if anyone has advice on pellet versus coal stoves. I like the idea of not having to purchase piping with a pellet stove, but they do seem more expensive than coal stoves. Checked some dealers today and found out that pellet prices are going up because the demand is greater than the supply. Stoves are selling out quickly too so it just may be too late for us - until next year... We have young children so the idea of having a hot stove out in the open is scary, but we'd like to try to save some money with the price of oil so high. Any advice on what to put around the stove to keep little fingers away? Thanks!

Comments (10)

• Switching2Wood
    18 years ago

Yeah, get a "hearth gate" and then scream at you kids if they go near it.

We got one for about 200 bucks that you can set up in a bunch of different shapes around the stove. It has a gate that swings open so you can get through. It was pretty darn sturdy.

But like I said, some parents are so permissive with their kids that I think putting up a climbable-toy looking thing around a stove would be asking for a problem, so I'd seriously consider whether you could train your kids to stay off of it.

If so, it will prevent the running/slipping/tripping burn hazzard that freestanding stoves present.

I have no experience with coal, but it sounds messy and dirty.

Pellets are pretty clean and easy to use, and if you get a stove and a few tons of pellets in about June of this year, you should be able to get a good deal.

• Xanndra
    18 years ago