Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
poorowner_gw

question about my fireplace

PoorOwner
15 years ago

Hi, on my fireplace the previously tiled area above the square grids, does it get really hot? because I am going to install the horizontal oak piece there, it's part of the mantel surround. Just above the grid where the tiles were.

I have not used the fireplace since I moved in, so I don't know how this thing works. The tiles that was on there showed no signs of soot.

Thanks in advance.

Comments (4)

• fandlil
    15 years ago

I'm no expert, but I believe that the presence or absence of soot by itself is not the answer. The surround immediately around the firebox needs to be noncombustible, but how big that surround needs to be (the required "clearance") depends on the fireplace specifications. If you have an owner's manual (assuming this is a prefab fireplace), the specs should be there or, if not there, maybe you can contact the manufacturer to find out. If you do not have a manual, or if there is none because the fireplace was custom built, then I would recommend you get an expert opinion from a fireplace contractor. Alternatively, you might have the chimney cleaned -- something you should do, since you're new to the house, unless you know for a fact that it has been cleaned before you moved in -- and maybe the chimney sweep guy can give you some guidance.

As a last resort, if nobody can answer your question, your best bet would be to install a noncombustible surround equal in size to the one that used to be there. That would mean that the oak mantle you are considering would not work, and you'd have to find one with the proper clearance.

You're doing this at the right time, so you'll be ready for the first cold spell. Good luck.

• ventupete
    15 years ago