Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tedalan

Pellet Prices

tedalan
17 years ago

I am new to the pellet fuel pricing, but, thought I'd pass along the local Lowes price for Vulcan pellets - $286 per ton. Seems a bit high for this early in the season. Anyone know if they ever go on sale? I also have a price from my Harman dealer of $240 per ton - which is what I will be buying.

Comments (8)

• minnow101
    17 years ago

Pellets will NOT go any lower this heating season and if like last year will go through the roof. This is one commondity that it does not pay off to wait. Where are you located in the country ? Pellet prices vary wildly depending on where you live.

• tedalan
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Sounds like that's going to be especially true this year with energy prices going through the roof. I live in the small town of Chambersburg PA - very close to Gettysburg. We actually have a large pellet manufacturing facility about 50 miles to the northeast (Penn Wood Products, Inc. East Berlin, PA) and I am trying to see if I can buy them direct. I will have all of my fuel (I hope) by the middle of September. I am still working on the storage solution - one ton in the garage and a ton in my shed - that's all the room I have.

• woodinvirginia
    17 years ago

Tractor Supply Company, Fredericksburg, Virginia $239.99 a ton or 4.90 a bag Saw them this morning.

Wow only the stove dealers were charging that high a price last winter.

Can't find a Pellet at Sam's Club this year either. Any other Virginians know where you can get these at a MORE reasonable price?

Please speakup before Septemeber 15.

• charlz
    17 years ago