Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mayland_gw

is it safe to create a 'fireplace' around this wood stove?

mayland
16 years ago

We bought a house that has an old woodburning stove. We would like to keep it and use it, but it sits a long way out from the wall in the middle of the family room. Its about 18 inches from the wall to the back of the stove. It sits on a brick hearth. The chimney pipe goes up through the ceiling, thru the attic and out of the roof. Here's a photo:

We would really like to move the stove back to be much closer to the wall, and to build either a brick fireplace around it, or to tile the wall behind and the floor underneath it.

We will be taking off the black heat-proof metal sheet on the wall as we are going to drywall over all of the wood panelling. If we are able to move the stove closer to the wall, will brick or tile on the wall be enough heatproofing?

I have no experience at all with stoves so I don't know whether this a safe thing to do, or whether this is not possible with this type of stove?

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Comments (12)

• mayland
    Original Author
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Thanks so much for your advice, this is very helpful. I will find a local fireplace shop and see what they suggest.

I'm sure it is pretty old, probably 1960s, so it makes sense that its a polluter.

The carpenter that is working on lots of other renovation in the house suggested taking off the wood panelling and the wall framing, installing a header and then bricking in the wall (the house exterior is brick) so that we could move the stove (or a new stove) closer to the wall. I need to find out what is code here (Atlanta) and go and look at what options we would have.

Thanks for your help.

• reinhardt_ca
    16 years ago

If you go to the city to ask about the applicable code, what you are likely to find is that the building official will ask what the specifications are for the unit you are planning to install.