Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
akkw

Install a fireplace in a house without one?

akkw
16 years ago

Hi, clueless newbie here... thank you for any help! We are thinking of purchasing a house out of state which is about 20 years old and it's a great house but it doesn't have a fireplace. We REALLY love woodburning fireplaces and not having one is a deal breaker. Problem is, there are not that many houses to choose from in this neighborhood so we are wondering how much it would cost (and if it's even possible?) to install a woodburning fireplace in a house without one.

What things would we need to consider? Any estimates on how difficult this would be, and how much it would cost, are much appreciated.

Also, if we decide to go with one of the (very few) newer houses available there, can you tell me if it's possible to change out a gas fireplace for a woodburning one? (Does no one like woodburning fireplaces anymore except for us?)

When looking at all these newer house I'm confused by all the terminology -- pre-fab fireplaces, ventless, masonry, etc. Is it always the case that you can't change out a ventless gas fireplace (or a "pre-fab" gas fireplace) for a woodburning one? Conversely, it is usually the case that if there is a "masonry" fireplace present, with gas logs, that it could easily be converted to woodburning?

Sorry for all the questions. We are on a crazy timeline due to a job transfer and have to buy a house in this new area during a 4 day househunting trip we'll be taking in a week or two. Just trying to gather as much info as possible! Thank you :)

Comments (7)

• christopherh
    16 years ago

A regular fireplace installation could cost you more money than you'll get back in savings as fireplaces are heat LOSERS.
    Another alternative is a "Built in Stove", or BIS. They have all the appearances of a fireplace without the hassle of heat loss.