Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gunsmoke_gw

Fireplace in bathroom ????

gunsmoke
16 years ago

Hi Ya'll I'm a newbee here so I hope I'm not going to ask dumb questions.. So here goes... I am going to build a master bath.. approx. size will be 12x16. I do not want to put ugly elect. heaters in the ceiling or base board heating.(I'm an electrical contractor) and I hate that stuff.. So I want to put a fireplace in such as the Lopi model 21 DV. Has anyone had any dealings with such a project ??? Pro's and Con's

Thanks....for any help...

Comments (8)

• kframe19
    16 years ago

I've seen it done, but personally my suggestion would be to put in underfloor radiant heat and move the fireplace somewhere else...

• gunsmoke
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks kframe 19. but it will be a gas log type..no mess.

Thanks again...

• SeattlePioneer
    16 years ago

Yes, it's done. I'm not quite sure how well it's likely to work as a primary source of heat. It may tend to overheat a small room, or may tend to provide spot heat rather than heat the room itself.

I'd seek out the opinions of some qualified designers and/or fireplace dealers and installers and ask quations about such possible problems until you are satisfied that things will work right.

The bathroom fireplaces I've seen seemed to be mostly for decoration, rather than heating.

• fandlil
    16 years ago

go to woodstove.com & look up cottage mini gas stove. It's a small direct vent unit in soapstone. Not a fireplace, so if you have your heart set on one, you won't like this. But this small unit is, in my opinion, a real charmer, and its limited heating capacity may be just what you need for your bathroom. Other manufacturers may have similar units. Think about it.

• bikesr2tired
    16 years ago