Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
balithai2

Small Modern Stoves - Hearthstone Bari or ?

balithai
14 years ago

I am in escrow to buy a mid-century home that has an inefficient free-standing fireplace (from a 1970s remodel). See photo below. I would like to replace it with a woodstove or gas stove, but keep with the home's original clean, modern lines. I am really new to this process, and have no ideas really where to start, what brands are reliable and not unduly expensive, and what considerations I should keep in mind.

I'd like to be as energy efficient as possible. This stove will not be the home's primary source of heat, but will be used primarily to heat the family room and kitchen in the winter (medium mild winter area).

From a quick internet search, I turned up the Hearthstone Bari. http://www.hearthstonestoves.com/wood-stoves/stove-details?product_id=27 Does anyone have any thoughts about this stove? Or any recommendations for a smaller, modern-looking woodstove?

Any all help appreciated!

--BaliThai

Comments (8)

• bikesr2tired
    14 years ago

I don't know if you want to replace this stove with one that just looks different or more efficient. If it's the latter I would suggest keeping this stove and install a Magic Heat unit in the flue pipe. You would be amazed at the heat they put out! They are incredibly easy to install and cost around $180.00. I've used one for years and wouldn't be without it. The only drawback is some fan noise which I don't find that objectionable. Check out the link I included and look at the reviews. The unit shown is for a 6" pipe but I'm sure an 8" is also available. It looks like your unit is an 8".
    Jim

Here is a link that might be useful: Magic Heat Reclaimer for Gas Stove

• riverspots
    14 years ago

Try the forum at hearthnet.com for someone with experience with this model.